Chocolate star cookies and handwritten cards.

It’s a rare thing today to recieve a handwritten letter or even a birthday card. Except over Christmas. I’ve just received my first card for this season and it was with pure excitement that I tore open the envelope, all the time guessing the sender. What a further delight it was to recognize the personal artwork on the card! Receiving this first very personal handpainted card, had me digging out some cards myself . They may not be in time for Christmas, but the timeless message will be the same: “I care and you are in my thoughts. May you experience exuberant moments. Love. Ronell”

And of course you can’t write cards without a cheekful of cookies, a coffee, some far off music and why not a flickering candle to accompany your reminiscing message.

…chocolate star cookies…

chocstarcookies-12-15-2008-4-26-06-pm-12-15-2008-4-26-06-pm

chocolatestarcookies1

A recipe from Cuisine Creative, Burda, Novembre 2005.

..travelling..

window2-1-28-2006-12-59-53-pm

This is an entry for Susan at  Foodblogga’s Christmas cookies round 2.

7 responses

  1. Jean

    I wholly agree, though I haven’t been fortunate enough to receive a handpainted card, but ones with notes written in the sender’s hand, little stories about the past year, a remembrance of when the two of you last spent Christmas together. It’s lovely. My daughter and I try to write at least once a month, lest there be NO family memorabilia to hand down to future generations. E-mail and text-messaging are quick and handy, but nothing takes the place of a personal note. Oh, and the cookies look lovely, as do all the special foods you photograph and/or paint. Thanks for always sharing a lovely look at the holiday season. Be well.

    18/12/2008 at 15:33

  2. “May you experience exuberant moments.” That is such a beautiful sentiment. I agree with you. I received a hand-written thank you note and was so pleasantly surprised. I found myself re-reading it and even placed it on my counter top for several days. They’re just so much more personal than emails. Any may you experience exuberant moments, Ronell.

    18/12/2008 at 18:26

  3. Ronell, it could be a tree ornament but no worries, I would still chomp on it!

    19/12/2008 at 18:06

  4. Beautiful cookies Ronell, perfect for Christmas!

    20/12/2008 at 22:09

  5. I love how you arranged the cookies, books, pen, etc. Really set the mood. I hope you received many more handwritten cards this season!

    28/12/2008 at 01:00

  6. Ronell, you truly are an artist! That first picture is a still life if ever I saw one. The cookies are an edible work of art too! And hurrah for handwritten Christmas cards. I still send out close to 50 each year, even though I never get as many back. Despite spending my whole life on the internet, there’s just something special about sending and receiving a handwritten card…

    14/01/2009 at 19:15

  7. Pingback: Eat Christmas Cookies, Season 2: Christmas Cookies from Around the World | Eat Christmas Cookies, Season 2: Christmas Cookies from Around the World recipe | Eat Christmas Cookies, Season 2: Christmas Cookies from Around the World good food recipes

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 262 other followers