No-fuss Saturday lunch salad

I am always starving on a Saturday afternoon. But I don’t have the desire to take on cooking a meal. And I don’t want bread and jam. And I don’t want MacDonald’s or the likes. And I don’t want loads of dishes and cleaning up to do. I want no-fuss. I want something that is quick and easy and light, because we play tennis afterwards, but it still needs to be filling.

A protein salad like this one works for me. With a banana in the tennis bag.

Make a salad from the following ingredients:

  • Mixed salad leaves, a huge bowl.
  • mixed herbs of your choice
  • Bocconcini cheese
  • a can of “Catalan tuna” (tuna in a tomato sauce)
  • a small can of sweetcorn(or frozen)
  • sun dried tomatoes
  • cucumber sticks
  • dry roasted almonds
  • dried cranberries
  • A vinaigrette made of: sun dried tomato paste, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, sherry vinegar, lemon juice, salt and pepper, small finely chopped shallot.

serves 2

…moulin rouge…

11 responses

  1. Delicious salade and wonderfum picture of poppies.

    06/06/2008 at 19:16

  2. My family knows that poppies are my absolute favorite flower and every year in September they come into bloom and as that is my birthday month. A big bunch poppies is always a part of my gift.

    Delicious salad!!!!

    07/06/2008 at 16:01

  3. Wow those poppies. I like the montage.
    Salad sounds perfect, I haven’t tried Catalan tuna…

    08/06/2008 at 15:42

  4. Did you take these fabulous poppy photos, Ronell? GORGEOUS!
    They are my favorite flower!

    08/06/2008 at 23:57

  5. the field of coquelicot is really captivating!! everytime i see this flower it makes me happy!! :-) thanks ronell

    09/06/2008 at 09:52

  6. Ann

    Your salad looks like the perfect weekend lunch… and those poppies! Just beautiful!

    09/06/2008 at 12:45

  7. Yum Ronell, this is my kind of salad. Perfect for summer or anytime really.

    13/06/2008 at 23:53

  8. I love the sound of that salad – and I know exactly how you feel on Saturdays! It seems to be a waste to be spending time in the kitchen when the sun is shining outside and you don’t have to be at work :)

    And as for those stunning poppies – oh WOW! We don’t really have fields of poppies around here, but I do have a mini poppy field in my garden. I sowed a ton of seeds about 4 years ago and since then they just seed themselves and come up in droves! The bumblebees LOVE our garden!

    16/06/2008 at 16:30

  9. what a lovely salad that is. yum, it sounds just perfect with tuna and little cheeses. clever combo i’m going to try! oh and those flowers, swooooon…

    18/06/2008 at 06:40

  10. The salad sounds perfect. I love the use of sun-dried tomato paste in the vinaigrette.

    06/07/2008 at 00:31

  11. mmmm looks delicious!

    21/09/2008 at 16:58

I appreciate your visit and comment, thank you!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 192 other followers